Free Newsletter
Register for our Free Newsletters
Access Control
Deutsche Zone (German Zone)
Education, Training and Professional Services
Government Programmes
Guarding, Equipment and Enforcement
Industrial Computing Security
IT Security
Physical Security
View All
Other Carouselweb publications
Carousel Web
Defense File
New Materials
Pro Health Zone
Pro Manufacturing Zone
Pro Security Zone
Web Lec

Successful Government security test for SGI Altix

Atsec Information Security : 18 July, 2008  (New Product)
Evaluation by atsec information security of Linux running on SGI Altix systems confirms security levels meet Government standards
atsec information security and SGI have announced that Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.1 running on two SGI Altix family systems has successfully completed the Common Criteria evaluation at evaluation assurance level (EAL) 4+.

The achievement confirms that SGI Altix and Altix XE systems running Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.1 meet government and military security standards, making the systems available to customers with more stringent security requirements. EAL 4+ is the highest assurance level ever achieved by Linux OS-based systems from SGI.

Passing the evaluation, which was performed by atsec, means that SGI Altix systems received Common Criteria Security Certification EAL 4+ from the National Information Assurance Partnership (NIAP), a US Government initiative developed to meet the security testing needs of both IT consumers and producers. The long-term goal of NIAP, which is operated by the National Security Agency (NSA), is to help increase the level of trust consumers have in their information systems and networks through the use of cost-effective security testing, evaluation, and validation programs.

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.1 provides an enterprise-focused Linux environment. Areas of specific development include improvements in security capabilities, increased server performance and scalability, and enhanced desktop capabilities.
atsec, the world's most successful Common Criteria evaluator of Linux OS products, conducted the comprehensive evaluation. To date, atsec has performed more than 10 Linux evaluations on six different Linux platforms at assurance levels EAL2, EAL3, and EAL4+ under both the German BSI and US NIAP CCEVS Common Criteria schemes.
Bookmark and Share
Home I Editor's Blog I News by Zone I News by Date I News by Category I Special Reports I Directory I Events I Advertise I Submit Your News I About Us I Guides
   © 2012
Netgains Logo