Free Newsletter
Register for our Free Newsletters
Newsletter
Zones
Access Control
LeftNav
Alarms
LeftNav
Biometrics
LeftNav
Detection
LeftNav
Deutsche Zone (German Zone)
LeftNav
Education, Training and Professional Services
LeftNav
Government Programmes
LeftNav
Guarding, Equipment and Enforcement
LeftNav
Industrial Computing Security
LeftNav
IT Security
LeftNav
Physical Security
LeftNav
Surveillance
LeftNav
View All
Other Carouselweb publications
Carousel Web
Defense File
New Materials
Pro Health Zone
Pro Manufacturing Zone
Pro Security Zone
Web Lec
 
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
 
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
 
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
 
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
 
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
 
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
 
 
News

Reshare Option on Google+ Compromises Privacy

BitDefender UK : 04 July, 2011  (Technical Article)
Inability to disable reshare through circles enables private content to be shared beyond immediate friends in Google+ social networking application
Reshare Option on Google+ Compromises Privacy

Hot on the heels of the news about a reshare bug on Google+, BitDefender have detected another flaw that should be of real concern to users, according to Catalin Cosoi, Head of the Online Threats Lab at internet security solutions provider BitDefender


“The Financial Times already reported on the important privacy issue regarding the reshare feature that cannot be disabled by default, and this related flaw presents similar problems.


One of the main features of Google+ is Circles, the possibility to easily share the right content to the right people. However, once the content has been shared to a Circle, anyone can share it by default to other Circles. It boils down to the fact that the tagging feature can be bypassed by using the reshare option. Let's say user “A” shares a picture only to their “Close Friends” circle, and disables resharing. All it takes is for someone from that "Close friend" circle to tag a person from outside this circle in the picture. Once this has been done, that person can share the picture to anyone, in any way.”


“Whilst it's true that once someone has access to a picture they can save it and redistribute it, the concern here is that Google+ is promoting Circles as a way to be selective about how you share content, yet accidental and even deliberate sharing to other Circles is all too easy to do. Let’s not forget, if it happened to Bono, it can happen to anyone.”

Bookmark and Share
 
Home I Editor's Blog I News by Zone I News by Date I News by Category I Special Reports I Directory I Events I Advertise I Submit Your News I About Us I Guides
 
   © 2012 ProSecurityZone.com
Netgains Logo