Free Newsletter
Register for our Free Newsletters
Access Control
Deutsche Zone (German Zone)
Education, Training and Professional Services
Government Programmes
Guarding, Equipment and Enforcement
Industrial Computing Security
IT Security
Physical Security
View All
Other Carouselweb publications
Carousel Web
Defense File
New Materials
Pro Health Zone
Pro Manufacturing Zone
Pro Security Zone
Web Lec
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor

McAfee's fantasy league team for attracting malicious code

McAfee : 19 June, 2008  (Technical Article)
Euro 2008 stars attract malicious sites with the players' names proving popular search terms driving victims to sites harbouring malware according to McAfee in its "Malicious XI" list
As the European Championship circus rolls on to the Quarter Finals, McAfee has shown a red card to some of the tournament's top players.

McAfee's 'Malicious XI', listed below, are the eleven players appearing in Euro 2008 who have the highest number of unsafe websites containing their names. Managed by incoming Chelsea manager, 'Big Phil', Luis Felipe Scolari, who also finds his name connected to a number of malicious sites, these eleven players may inadvertently cause their fans to pay a penalty when searching for their idols online.

Cybercrooks are now using the names of popular Euro 2008 football players to infiltrate PC's to make money with spyware, adware, spam etc and even gather information to commit ID theft.

In spite of Petr Cech's recent howler against Turkey, McAfee has revealed that Italian stopper Gigi Buffon finds himself wearing the No1 jersey in the Euro 2008 'Malicious XI'. While Buffon is normally seen as the ultimate in safety in the net, he's the exact opposite on the net, with a number of unsafe sites linked to his name

'McAfee's Malicious first team' (in order of most unsafe first) are:.

1 Gigi Buffon
2 Alessandro Del Piero
3 Fabio Cannavaro
4 Klass Jan Huntelaar
5 Freddie Ljungberg
6 Tomas Grigera
7 Martin Harnik
8 Cennaro Gattuso
9 Ruud Van Nistelrooy
10 Cesc Fabregas
11 Carlos Puyol

Bookmark and Share
Home I Editor's Blog I News by Zone I News by Date I News by Category I Special Reports I Directory I Events I Advertise I Submit Your News I About Us I Guides
   © 2012
Netgains Logo