Free Newsletter
Register for our Free Newsletters
Access Control
Deutsche Zone (German Zone)
Education, Training and Professional Services
Government Programmes
Guarding, Equipment and Enforcement
Industrial Computing Security
IT Security
Physical Security
View All
Other Carouselweb publications
Carousel Web
Defense File
New Materials
Pro Health Zone
Pro Manufacturing Zone
Pro Security Zone
Web Lec
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor
ProSecurityZone Sponsor

ID World award winners announced

ID World : 25 November, 2008  (Company News)
Awards given to individuals in RFID, tracking, biometrics and other ID related technologies at this year's ID World show
The winners of this year's ID People Awards ­ the Oscars of the Auto ID industry ­ were revealed on November 18th during the seventh ID World International Congress, held in Milan. At the annual ceremony, awards were presented in recognition of the contribution made by thought leaders, innovators and pioneering adopters who distinguished themselves by their achievements during the past year.

Five awards were handed out following nomination and voting by the members of the ID Community, who have supported the initiative with enthusiasm during the last few months. More than 4500 valid votes were collected in the three-week election phase. The categories and winners are:.

* ID Community Award: Abdullah Ferdous, Senior Consultant, Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission of the Government of Bangladesh, for his dedication to bringing up the sometimes overlooked viewpoint of developing countries when talking about immigration. This year's ID Community Award was presented by Dr Detlef Houdeau, Senior Director of Business Development in the market segment identification at Infineon Technologies and winner of the 2007 ID Community Award.

* ID Leadership Award: Peter Collins, president of A2B Tracking Solutions, for the work that has led him to become one of the United State¹s foremost experts in UID compliance. This year's ID Leadership Award was presented by Sertac Ozinal, CEO of the BKM Interbank Card Centre of Turkey and the winner of the Honourable Mention Global Security Forum in 2006.

* ID Limelight Award: Deniz Tuncalp, Mobile Signature Unit Manager at Turkcell, for creating the sustainable business model that helped Turkcell launch the world¹s largest mobile electronic signature infrastructure.

* ID Trail Blazer Award: Professor Srini Devadas Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT, for leading the team of researchers that developed the Physical Unclonable Functions technology which makes silicon chips unclonable. This year's ID Trail Blazer Award was presented by Antti Korhonen, President & CEO of Ekahau and the winner of last year's Honorable Mention Asset Tracking Forum.

* ID Outstanding Achievement Award: Major General Shafiqul Islam, Military Secretary, Bangladesh Army, for co-managing the Bangladesh Voter Registration Project which prepared biometric-based voter lists for 80 million people in just 11 months. This year's ID Outstanding Achievement Award was presented by Tom Miller, former President of Intermec and winner of the ID Leadership Award in 2004.

During the ceremony, tribute was paid to a person whose lifelong achievements gave an outstanding contribution to fostering the market penetration of advanced auto ID based solutions. The ID Hall of Fame Award was presented to Bo Gustafson, faculty member of the Department of Astronomy at the University of Florida, Director for the university¹s Laboratory for Astrophysics and President of DataGrid. The ID Hall of Fame recognises the lifetime achievements of outstanding individuals in the ID Community.

Wise Media's ID World Events Team presented Honourable Mention awards to three distinguished leaders in the ID Community:.

* Honourable Mention Electronic Passport Forum: Lieutenant General Dr Vasyl Gritsak. For years he has played a significant role in Ukrainian politics, establishing the legal framework for biometric national ID and travel documents in his young country (independent since 1991). He has been the political leader that has set the foundations for the Ukrainian ePassport, manufactured in Ukraine by the largest security company in Eastern Europe.

* Honourable Mention Asset Tracking Forum: Dr Gerald Santucci is Head of Unit "Networked Enterprise and RFID" Information Society and Media Directorate-General ­ European Commission. In his role at the European Commission, Gerald Santucci is untiring in his efforts to drive forward and foster a coherent European approach to RFID that ensures common standards, harmonised legislation and compatible guidelines

* Honourable Mention Transportation Security Forum: Kamel Boussadia is the iAirport Solution Manager in the Security Solutions and Services activities from Thales. He leads the group that has created the Thales Smart Corridor one of the most advanced integrated security solutions for fast, comprehensive and effective screening of people at check points within critical infrastructures.

QUID is a new award created in 2008 to give voice and visibility to the leaders spearheading adoption of auto ID based solutions for innovation in Italy in the public and private sector. This year's QUID Award went to Vincent Santacroce, ICT Director of Postal Services Business Unit, Poste Italiane. In this role, he has launched the "electronic postman" project in which 18,000 mailmen have been equipped with state-of-the-art portable terminals and printers that enable the Italian postal service to provide a wide portfolio of advanced services to its customers.
Bookmark and Share
Home I Editor's Blog I News by Zone I News by Date I News by Category I Special Reports I Directory I Events I Advertise I Submit Your News I About Us I Guides
   © 2012
Netgains Logo